View Full Version : PLX liquid explosive

Kekule
August 31st, 2001, 11:44 AM
During my searches on the database of the
US Patent and Trademark Office ie found a Patent claiming on a liquid explosive consisting of nitromethane and a sentisizer, which molecules contain a amino (-NH2) group. In the Patent itself sentisizers like ethylenediamine or ethanolamine a mentioned.
My first question is, whether anyone has got some expierience with this explosive composition and if so, what his results were.
Second, i got the idea of using Urea as a sentisizer, because the molecule contains two amino groups. Whats your oppinion abaut using Urea as sentisizer?

Mr Cool
August 31st, 2001, 07:02 PM
I have no first hand experience on sensitised NM, I have done ANNM a few times but with mainly AN as the explosive.

I'm certain that urea would work, I also think the following would: methylamine, ammonia, nitrourea, hydroxylamine, guanidine, and any other amine. But you don't want anything with too much carbon or hydrogen etc., as it would spoil the already negative OB...

cutefix
September 1st, 2001, 05:47 AM
I had tried some similar formulation before,but using aniline.I remember it was 95/5 nitromethane/aniline.The chemicals were reagent grade..It really works.I used a stronger detonator.It gives a sharp explosion pitch and greyish smoke upon detonation.Therefore I presume that the VOD of that is, above 5500 m/s..The important factor of sensitizers is, it can be dispersed properly in the nitromethane.I don’t have any idea if urea is soluble in this liquid explosive….

Mr Cool
September 1st, 2001, 06:24 AM
I doubt microballons would be as good as chemical sensitisers, since you can't make the mixture totally homogeneous and eventually they'll settle out. Unless you thicken it with something... there was a thread on this, I think polymethylacrilate was being used, but IIRC it only thickened it and didn't actually make a nice firm gel.