View Full Version : Acetone Peroxide by volume yeild calculations - Archive File

megalomania
June 17th, 2003, 08:53 PM
PYRO500
posted 06-03-2001 02:17 AM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
After reviewing the archives I found an interesting thread started by Ctrl_c, the first message I will post here:
ok, i'm kinda new at this (this is my first year taking real chem) so bear with me.
the 2 rxn's for the tri- and di- cycloacetoneperoxide are

3(C3H6O) + 3(H2O2) => C9H18O6 + 3H2O (tricycloacetone
peroxide)

and

2(C3H6O) + 2(H2O2) => C6H12O4 + 2H2O (dicycloacetone
peroxide)

now to find the molar mass (i'll only do for the tricyclo)

C3H6O..........H2O2..........C9H18O6
-----------....-----------...------------
C: 12.0 (3)....H: 1.0 (2)...C: 12.0 (9)
H: 1.0 (6).....O: 16.0 (2)...H: 1.0 (18)
O: 16.0............................O: 16.0 (6)
-----------....-----------...------------
58 g/mol.......34 g/mol......222 g/mol

H20
-----------
H: 1.0 (2)
O: 16.0 (1)
-----------
18 g/mol

now....

3(58) + 3(34) ==> 1(222) + 3(18)

so the amount needed by mass is

174g C3H6O + 102g H2O2 ==> 222g C9H18O6 + 54g H2O

is this correct aside from the fact that it doesnt account for diluted H2O2?

this information has been useful to me but now I want to know how to calculate the yeild in grams by the liquid (ml) measurement of the ingredients. this involves some math witch I am not good at. I think to figure this problem out we will need the optimum mixture of acetone to h2o2