View Full Version : Can HMTD be a safe primary explosive? - Archive File

megalomania
June 18th, 2003, 03:39 PM
HNIW
Frequent Poster
posted 06-10-2001 04:02 AM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I have been preparing blasting caps that contains HMTD for about 4 months. I use Al pipes. To reduce the reaction between HMTD and Al, I usually mix HMTD with pure NC and acetone. This mixture can be easily pressed and pressed explosive has higher detonation velocity. I've heard that HMTD can explode without any reasonable reason when one uses copper or brass pipes for blasting caps. My oldest blasting caps have more then 2 months and they set off ANFO without any problems. I know that problems with HMTD may occur when we mix it with powdered metal, but I would like to know if it can react with aluminium pipe. When I opened an old blasting cap containing HMTD I noticed that the pipe walls were covered with Al2O3. So my question is: Is it safe to use HMTD as a compound for blasting caps?

wantsomfet
Frequent Poster
posted 06-10-2001 06:49 AM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
HMTD will react with aluminium, copper, brass, zinc, antimony, iron & lead, even when dry. Use AP for your detonators or cover the metal with some varnish!
Putting HMTD in Al pipes could result in an accident. (You where lucky that you used HMTD putty...)
------------------
for best catfood visit:
kangaroooo.cjb.net

Mr Cool
Frequent Poster
posted 06-10-2001 08:54 AM
Line the inside of the pipe with varnish, or a layer of greaseproof paper. This should keep the HMTD and the Al seperate.
HMTD is a better choice than AP. I have had a bit of loose HMTD for years now, and I keep testing it to see how it is, and it still seems fine. There was even some interest in HMTD for commercial detonators. I'll post the file up here if I still have it.

HNIW
Frequent Poster
posted 06-10-2001 11:22 AM