View Full Version : HMTD Question - Archive File

megalomania
June 26th, 2003, 03:12 PM
John456
Frequent Poster
posted March 19, 2001 08:48 PM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Hi,
This is my first time making HMTD. I have made Acetone Peroxide before but never had a chance to try HMTD because of the chemicals required. I am using 30% peroxide and followed Mega's recipe exactly. After stirring the solution for a while, and taking it out of the ice bath, it stayed a clear solution for about an hour. It started to turn milky white and i noticed a few crystals in there. After 3 or 4 hours, it is still milky white but is pasty and thick, with very small crystals in the paste. I cant pass it through a coffee filter because it is the consistency of glue. Is this supposed to happen? How do i filter the solution?

Anthony
posted March 20, 2001 03:26 PM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
It seems that most of the solution has turned into very fine crystals, probably because you are using high conc. H2O2.
I'd try "filtering" it though a piece of old T-shirt, you'll probably be able to simply sqeeze out the excess liquid when it's in the filter. Don't forget to wash it with plenty of water.

John456
Frequent Poster
posted March 20, 2001 03:48 PM
Took your advice about the old T-shit. filtered it, and washed it with water and methanol, and it works like a charm

Cricket
Frequent Poster
posted March 26, 2001 12:49 AM
Does anyone know if I can wash HMTD with the Wal-Mart brand of denatured alcohol? It says it is ethanol denatured with methanol. This is all I have and really hope it will work. Just want to make sure since it becomes very very sensitive if it is not pure.

Mr Cool
Frequent Poster
posted March 26, 2001 12:58 PM
I've washed it with that bright purple ethanol/methanol stuff, after washing well with water, to help it dry quicker and it was perfectly normal.

Cricket