View Full Version : Ice Baths

disarmme
July 7th, 2003, 01:57 PM
i'm new to pyrotechnics (and also to chemistry in general) and i'm the kind of person who wants to do things EXACTLY right. i've noticed alot of projects require a "salt-ice bath". i know basically what that is, but i was wondering if there was any precise method and measurements that must be used. i'd liked to hear everyone's personal method as well. sorry it's a dumb question, but that what the water cooler is for i guess. newbies. thanks.

rooster
July 7th, 2003, 01:58 PM
What is the best form of ice bath you guys have made with OTC chemicals?
By "the best" I mean for nitrations (or other exothermic reactions).
I am not looking for what you normally use, but what you have had the best effect with.

Is the one with NH4NO3, NH4Cl and water stronger than the one with just NH4NO3 and water?

Also I read that CaCl2 x XH2O is endohtermic in reaction with water. Maybe this could be used?

The regualr one with NaCl, ice and water seems uneffective.
I know of the one with acetone and dry ice that is fucking cold. The reactions will likely stop or be slowed too much down if not the reaction is VERY exothermic. Anyways, dry ice is not too easy to come by is it?

What are your best ice baths?

yt2095
July 7th, 2003, 02:10 PM
disarmme,

the fact is, that for PYRO ice baths are rarely to never needed, in fcat a ball mill will be your most used peice of kit along with seives of various mesh widths.
ice + salt (NaCl) and bit of water makes a freezing mix from regualr ice, takes the temp down to about -7(ish).
that`s usualy used for HI-EX or crystalisation of a difficult solution or weak solution to cyrystalise in PYRO.
reducing the water content by evaporation is usualy sufficient for crystalisation in pyro.
the odd exception is for deliquescent or efflorescent (sp?) chems that make require active drying, they are rarely used in PYRO anyway :)