View Full Version : "In the Line of Fire" Resin Gun

stickfigure
July 17th, 2003, 08:55 AM
Have any of you had experience with high impact resins? I've been working on a resin model of mine and it reminded me of the gun from "In the Line of Fire". I'm sure that this has been brought up before but I couldn't find any threads that related to this in my search. I've been stroking this idea for awhile in the back of my head and decided to just come out and ask. I've been looking at a few modeling resins but have yet to commit to a purchase, as they are pretty expensive. Also I have no real experience in this area and don't want to buy a bunch of junk.

So do you guys have any guidance in this area? I just bought a CD-ROM on molding techniques and I'm going to purchase a couple books on molding and car body work as they will have some guidlines on recommended products.

The gun from that movie was to me one of the ultimate "improvised" weapons that emphasized simplicity and lethality in a very covert fashion.

This resin would have to be able to withstand the impact of a .22 cal back blast. I want to start small on this first.

Arkangel
July 19th, 2003, 07:00 AM
I don't know if there's a specific resin that will be this tough, but there's one used in GRP (fibreglass) manufacturing that might be hard enough if you use it in the right way.

I'm thinking of Furane Resin, and it's used by die-makers. Basically, to build the mould for any GRP object, you first build a wood or plaster original (the "die") That finally has a layer of fibreglass, and then many coatings of furane resin. It's a thinner, watery resin, but when it cures it's extremely hard, and can be polished to an almost glass-like finish.

You won't be able to use just this stuff, it will have to be a composite, but you might be able to get a hard enough finish by building up layers on a normal GRP base.

Tuatara
July 20th, 2003, 06:24 PM