View Full Version : Filtering AP - Archive File

Anthony
March 17th, 2003, 08:32 PM
daturk2000
A new voice
posted February 22, 2001 04:07 PM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
first off im a newbie- so pls dont give me a grilling!! In "the makshift arsenal" it says that after making AP crystals, you should filter them out of the water by using newspaper. It also says that the crytals r v.sensitive by friction, and shock. How do i filter the crystals out safely without blowing my head off!?? after i have got the crystals do i have 2 wash them? and if i do/dont what do i do with them after that?? i would have searched this in the past archives but i kept gettin an error mesg that didnt let me in! any help would b very apprecciated!!
[This message has been edited by daturk2000 (edited February 22, 2001).]

atropine
Frequent Poster
posted February 22, 2001 04:27 PM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
There are a number of posts on AP. Do a site search. I would edit this post before you spoil your rep forever. first impressions are the most dictating.

HMTD Factory
Frequent Poster
posted February 22, 2001 04:28 PM
What I do is put them on a stack of newspaper, the water will be sucked away.

Stone
Frequent Poster
posted February 23, 2001 02:10 AM
AP isn't very sensitive when it is wet, so don't worry. Just don't drop it or throw it around. I've found coffee filters to be the best, you don't loose ANY AP and it filters quicker than most other papers. Also, it is really smooth so it is easy to get the AP off the paper when all the water/solution has filtered away.
Once you have the AP in the filter, just keep pouring water through until it is completely white, you can pour a solution of Sodium Bicarbonate though if you want to be extra cautious.
By the way, the forum has sections for a reason. AP = Acetone Peroxide, meaning it belongs in "Explosive Peroxides".

darkdontay