View Full Version : Inexperienced- Please Advise

Ericm115
August 20th, 2001, 10:32 PM
Ok well, everyone has to start somewhere. I am very new to all this and am getting tired of blackpowder. I want to make something new, stronger than blackpowder but not anything that cant be detonated by enough force or just flame. After reading megalomania's site, I am too scared to make a peroxide as he recommended against it for beginners. What would you recommend that ISN'T very shock sensitive and doesnt need a separate chemical to detonate it. Thanks.

Ericm115
August 20th, 2001, 10:40 PM
Before I get flamed - I realize that fenris just posted a topic like mine in the High Explosives section. I am askin the same question as him, but I am looking for low explosives - thats the only difference. Thanks.

zaibatsu
August 20th, 2001, 11:23 PM
I'd stick to BP, why do you need anything more powerful? If its just for crackers etc, then you should be fine with BP. Other LE's are white gunpowder, Chlorate flash, perchlorate flash, permanganate flash and many more. If you're making your BP right then it should be fine, however because you are disappointed with it, or rather want to move on, maybe you aren't making it well enough? Just some things to consider.

I best just add that chlorate flash, white gunpowder and definately permanganate flash are all unpredictable.

Ericm115
August 21st, 2001, 12:22 AM
ok thanks - Ill mess around with flash powders for a while. Ive done some searching, but all I can find is that perchlorates are safer than chlorates and I think I read that sulpher makes it more shock sensitive. In your opinion, what is the LEAST shock sensitive flash powder? Thanks.

CyclonitePyro
August 21st, 2001, 01:23 AM
I've been at your stage, and my next move was flash, I make 70/30, KCLO4/400mesh german dark AL.
I've never had an accident with this and it is not sensitive, probably the most insensitive flash. Sulfer does nothing to falsh except for making it more unstable.