View Full Version : black powder info/help

dannyp16
September 26th, 2003, 12:03 PM
well yes im a noob im sure you have already gathered this before you clicked on the post,
basically I have been testing and experimenting with black powder and I am going to describe what I have descovered and what works for me for 2 reasons, the first being that mabey somone who is more experienced (being almost everyone) possibly help in perfecting my processes so that I can continue in my experiments. For you see I dont really want to move on untill I have this right, yes you may be thinking "what a gimp for only experimenting with somthing so easy as black powder" yes mabey that is true but i think it nessesary to start easy and work your way up.
and second for the super noob who doesnt fully understand black powder (which any safe new person would start in the pyro world) as there is little to no info on the actual making of black powder on this forums (i have searched).
I have also looked on the net but usually its an essay on the history and gives a quick glimpse at the ratios with no real detail on the procedure.

the way I make it
most people know that the ratio is 75 15 10 kno3 (potasium nitrate) charcole sulphur
basically i have it all seperate charcole is basically the lumpwood you get for bbq's which is what i use
the most important thing i have found is that the smaller the grinding the better quality the black powder.
i usually take the lumpwood smash it a couple of times with a rolling pin to break it up, and then wrap it in a newspaper or normall a4 paper and roll with a rolling pin (if you have a mill use that but for most that dont the rolling pin works quite well) then when this is completed and most of the lumpwood is dust i take a pair of tights and place over a funneland sive the lumpwood through.