View Full Version : Modified Haber Process

Ollie Snowie
October 1st, 2003, 05:50 PM
Somebody please move this. I'm still a newbie so I'd better post all my new threads in the water cooler.

Several ideas have struck me as making the haber process more accessible to the home laboratory:

1. I have heard (in another thread here) that ammonium nitrate will absorb ammonia even at atmospheric pressure. So how about putting a mixture of ammonium nitrate and iron filings on shelves in a heat and pressure resistant chamber, pumping in the nitrogen and hydrogen, heating it to a moderate temperature (nowhere near decomp. of ammonium nitrate) and leaving it until the pressure has dropped to almost normal, signifying that the reaction has almost finished. Then drive the ammonia off the ammonium nitrate with gentle heat or low pressure.

2. I presume the reason why ammonium nitrate absorbs ammonia is because it is an acidic salt (weak base with strong acid) where the acid ion has all its valences filled up with alkali ions (-NO2 and -NH4 have equal and opposite charges). So the ammonia is attracted to the ammonium nitrate but cannot bond with it. If this is so, you could use a more stable alternative (e.g. ammonium chloride) and run the reaction at a higher temperature, more like what they use in industry (~400*C).

3. As for the high pressure, I would use a centrifuge pump, because it is simple, has no rubbing parts, and needs no moveable gaskets (which wear out). You could then fill a large container with nitrogen and hydrogen, pump water in, leave it for a few hours, and then run off the dilute ammonia solution. As the ammonia is formed, it would dissolve in the water and be effectively removed from the gas phase where it can easily decompose again.

4. The previous method would not be very effective because the ammonia comes out as a dilute solution, so I came up with this idea: