View Full Version : AP newbie questions

SKSguy
October 3rd, 2003, 06:22 PM
Ive been lurking around here now and then trying to learn all I can from reading through hours of posts etc. Am interested in making a small amount of AP. I have read many posts regarding the matter and have studied different recipes. I also have made sense of the reaction in my head and understand the different acids that can be used etc. Im planning on using 30% H2O2, 100% pure acetone and I guess 30% HCL. The reason Im guessing on the HCL is because I have never bought the stuff so I dont know how it is to find here in Canuckle land.

Here are my questions:

1. Is AP safe enuff to make crackers with. Maybe M80 sized? (I dont want to blow a nut off with a couple in my pocket.

2. Does AP need to be tamped or can it be loose like flash in a cracker.

Please keep in mind Im a complete rookie, that has no access to aluminum powder, or I would use that. Also I have seen some very intelligent ppl in this forum that are no doubt highly educated. Im not a scientist, or a chemist. But I have taken grade 12 chem and did just fine so Im not retarded with regard to this stuff, just a bit apprehensive and always careful.

Im planning on using these crackers this halloween, and would like to get started asap.
Thank you very much for any information you may impart to a lowly sparkler country resident.
(I think sparklers are still legal in Canada arent they?........Probably not...lol

Hang-Man
October 3rd, 2003, 07:02 PM
I dont want to blow a nut off with a couple in my pocket.

Word of advice; NEVER put anything discussed on this forum in your pocket. If the explosive is safe enough to do this with it, it’s not worth making. :D