View Full Version : Setting up a lab

vap0r
December 6th, 2003, 04:05 AM
I've been into pyrotechnics on an amatuer level for 2 years now. I'm just getting into high explosives. I want to set up a sort of "lab" for making them safely in my garage. Can anyone recommend what I should start off with? I've already got a couple of beakers, a flask, a glass stirring rod, and some other accessories. What do all of you have, and what else are you going to purchase to complete the setup of your lab?

blindreeper
December 6th, 2003, 08:24 AM
I suggest a good spacey lab. Not cluttered. I personally have a wooden cupboard for my chemicals. It has 2 shelves, top for small bottles and powders and the bottom for big things like 4L acetone, KNO3, acids bottles ect.
I also scored a metal, lockable metal cabinet which has all my glass, scale, gloves, glasses, respirator, matches/lighter, fuse ect
A good solid desk/table is essiential for performing synthesis or whatever on.

I have a decent ammount of chems and rarely have to go out and get something new if I want to try a synthesis I "Just saw!"

I think you can;t buy everything you need in a lab at once, it kind of grows, like a garden :)

xyz
December 6th, 2003, 09:12 AM
Now I wonder if we can get the people from one of those "garden makeover" shows like groundforce to start doing labs instead...

flashpoint
December 6th, 2003, 01:23 PM
I'm interested in getting a glassware set, I can get piece by piece at work, but I'd like a whole set, I wonder who sells them, google time i guess...

Flake2m
December 6th, 2003, 01:50 PM
I might setup a decent lab someday when I have enough money to. Labs themselves have also been known to be cash cows...
Anyway as far as I know, make sure that the area your lab is setup is kept fairly clean. A dirty workplace can increase the chance of bad accidents.