View Full Version : Yet Another Black powder vs. Flash Powder

manslaughter
March 5th, 2004, 09:02 AM
OK. Im Just starting out with making pyrotechnics and explosives. Now im not a kewl and not gunna say i got sum black cats and sum smoke grenades how can i make Black Powder.No, Ive just ordered 6 pounds of Potassium Nitrate, 1 pound of sulfur and 1 pound of charcoal. Now im going to make sum black powder. But now im thinking, what about flash powder? should i make it instead and if so what would be the best way to make it and using what? I know i should start off small so i dont kill myself, but im guessing Flash powder isnt as bad as sum Dinitrodimethyloxamide or sum Erythritol Tetranitrate. Yes i am talking about BANG flash powder not a special effects FLASH salutes.

Cyclonite
March 5th, 2004, 09:40 AM
Its up to you, flash is more hazardous but iv never had an accident with it. Its easier to make than BP, although I have to say making some good BP is more rewarding than mixing some flash up. Just start with a 70%/30% mix of potassium perchlorite and some german dark respectively, I just put it in a bowl and turn until mixed well.

manslaughter
March 5th, 2004, 10:12 AM
i know kinda newbish, but ive heard of german dark before. What is it?o yes, whats the ignition point for it. high low?

a_bab
March 5th, 2004, 11:03 AM
Quote: "im not a kewl"

Well, you DO look being one indeed.
First post - a KEWL question.
Your spelling looks like hell (although you are american).
Did you read THE RULES ?

Kewl means (usually) a beginner. Even worse, an imprudent beginner. Since you are concerned about your safety, it means that you are not that kewl but still one of them. And probably a banned one...

bobo
March 5th, 2004, 11:12 AM
german dark = alu powder

nesler
March 6th, 2004, 06:40 AM
Oh Kee-ryst. "BANG flash powder"? Stay away from flash for now.