View Full Version : Prop Pistol Flamer

mixojoe
March 18th, 2004, 06:03 PM
Hi guys i work in the short film industry and wish to share a little contraption that we use sometimes for a some fun. It is an improvised pistol flamer.

http://www.sickindividual.com/flamer.html

Also if anyone has got any links or plans for a hidden sleeve rail system for a handgun like seen in "Taxi Driver" it would be really handy for a movie

Jacks Complete
March 18th, 2004, 06:18 PM
Not a bad idea.

My take on this design does without the caulk gun (which generally costs far more than it is worth, and you have to buy one that releases the pressure when you release the trigger for that design) and uses nothing more than an empty beer can from your recycle bin, a bit of wood, and the gas can.

Take your drink can (tin from here on in), and put it next to the gas can. Check the length is about right - the gas can should be about the same length. If it is too long, we can chop the tin down a bit later.

Get a drill bit that is the same width as the nozzle on the gas can. Now drill a hole centrally in the base of the drink tin. Test it by putting the gas can into the hole. When you push it halfway, it should catch, and start to spray. If you made it too big, get another tin and a smaller drill bit!

Next, chop the top off the tin (get the gas out first, though, if using power tools!) and drop your gas can in. Get it to line up with, and stick partly out of, the hole, just like in the test. Do a test squirt.

Now, you want to tune the length. Cut a notch wide enough for your thumb in the back of the tin, so you can push it forwards easily. Next get your bit of wood, and glue it to the tin, so that you can reach with your thumb, and have a nice pistol grip.

That's it! You can glue some kind of lighter system to it if you want, as a neat trigger, or whatever, or just use your free hand. The heat is great, but the rapid decompression keeps the nozzle icy cold!

mixojoe