View Full Version : Demolishing a Small Tool Shed

Zappy
March 24th, 2004, 02:23 PM
The structure in question is just your average tool shed, well, sort of. It's a homemade job measuring roughly 8' long by 5' wide and 7' high, not counting the peak. It consists of 1x8" clapboards nailed to the wooden frame (trusses?), which itself is built from 2x4s. The roof comes to an "A" shaped peak (sorry for the lack of proper construction terms!). Anyway, the building is quite dilapidated and has become an eyesore, and I would like to remove it sometime later this spring or summer.
Right now I'm trying to decide between the only two explosives I can obtain or manufacture: Pyrodex (cheap BP substitute) or acetone peroxide. I've had plenty of experience with both, though I've never tried to destroy anything this large. Since Pyrodex is a very slow-burning explosive (slower than BP, actually) it would need a lot of confinement. I'm guessing a simple pipebomb (piece of steel coupling with threaded end caps) with a charge of about 200g Pyrodex would produce enough of a shockwave to destroy the building. The goal here is to reduce it to managable pieces of wood which I could easily gather up afterwards - not to launch the thing into orbit.
My only concern with Pyrodex (or even BP, if I could obtain some) is the noise level that such a device would create. Although this is not a populated area, there are a number of homes some 1/4 mile away, where the occupants may not appreciate having their windows rattled. Fragments from the steel pipe are not a huge concern, as this building is in a remote location and the actual blast would be fired by remote ignition.