View Full Version : This Normal? - Archive file

zaibatsu
October 13th, 2002, 09:54 AM
The Real
Frequent Poster
posted January 07, 2001 05:02 AM
Ok, I tried a quick batch using the 50%HCl. After 3hrs I checked the jar. Observations: cloudy liquid with a suspension of very fine crystals. With agitation the solution became more cloudy and the crystals dissappeared. I'm assuming with agitation the crystals redissolved into the unreacted acetone. I used 5mL of the acid, rather than 3, the acid is also higher in concentration than what I've used before, does this explain the faster reaction?

I just checked the jar again and the crystals were present. Been about an hour since it went back in. I didn't agitate the jar however, but it looks the same, maybe more crystals. Are things "looking ok"?

And a question. Is AP putty made with sp fuse sensitive? Would you say it is more or less sensitive than AP itself?

zaibatsu
Frequent Poster
posted January 07, 2001 05:09 AM
I'm not an expert on this, but...
Ap putty IS fuse sensitive, and its also less sensitive than straight AP, so is safer to keep. Plus its more powerful.

The Real
Frequent Poster
posted January 07, 2001 10:52 AM
Thanks for that info.
This batch worked overnight, the yield is gonna be small, but I'm sure the rxn is not complete. I filtered what was there and put the liquid back into the fridge, I also added more acid last night, eyballed about 30mL. My first test: held a match to a small pile (maybe 1g). fffft!, no visible burning, sweet.
I noticed some crystals formed on the glass above the liquid. I'm wondering a way to test for the dimer.

CragHack
Frequent Poster
posted January 07, 2001 12:10 PM