View Full Version : Thermite wont ignite

Dodoman
August 27th, 2004, 01:40 PM
I've made thermite and it won't ignite. This is my first time making it. I used Fe2O3 and Al with ratio 80:27 respectivly according to the reaction Fe2O3 + 2Al ----> Al2O3 + Fe.
I mixed them in a morter. I used a magnesium strip it didn't ignite. I've tried placing some of the powder on the strip it ignited with a spark but didn't ignite the rest of the powder. I used KMnO4 and glycerol, the glycerol ignites vigrously but still won't ignite the thermite mixture :( . Can anyone please help me with this.......? Any reply would be appreciated.

Cemist
August 28th, 2004, 03:15 PM
I usually take a bit of the thermite and mix it 1:1 with Mg powder and this mixture is then ignited with BP/Mg and a simple visco fuse and ignites the rest of the Thermite.
Never had a failure with this method.

An other method would be to take commerial available thermite igniters which could also be homemade by mixing
53 % Ba-Nitrate
20 % Al-Powder
15 % Iron(III)-oxide
12 %Dextrine
with water to a sticky paste and proceed with it like you would for making sparklers.

Hang-Man
August 28th, 2004, 11:18 PM
Theres other threads on thermite, and this will most likley be deleted, but try adding some KNO3 to the mix and useing KNO3/Mg to light it.

croc
August 29th, 2004, 12:08 AM
I have had the exact same problems as you and tried to ignite it in the same order. The bad part is mine failed also. Your problem might be that the Al is not fine enough. Is it a powder or filings?

K9
August 30th, 2004, 02:19 PM
There's a good chance that the powder isn't fine enough which would prevent ignition of the mixture. If that's not the problem, then the only solution I can see is either sensitizing the thermite to ignition by addition of something like magensium powder, or just using a lot more of whatever the ignition material is.

chemoleo
August 30th, 2004, 02:35 PM