View Full Version : EMP device

m4dn3s5.c0mb47
November 30th, 2004, 05:13 AM
Ok, in the coming weeks I'll be testing my first EMP "device" It will consist of what should principally be an EMP device. A high explosive charge in a pipe, with electrified copper wire wrapped around the outside. I'm going to place various electrical objects in the vicinity and check on them after the device goes off. I'll hopefully post a video and report my findings afterwards. For the main charge I need a HE compound, and was thinking either NG, or AP, which I already have. I'm hoping I won't need anything like RDX because that is a pain in the ass to synth and I've never done it before. If anyone has any experience with this type of thing, feel free to share your expertise.

Marvin
December 4th, 2004, 10:48 AM
Experience, no, but for an EMP shouldnt you be *imploding* the coil as opposed to making a wire grenade with added glitch in next doors TV reception?

I would suggest from your description that making an EMP with good electronics and no HE at all would perform better than the current plan. My understanding is that a traditional EMP is done by having many turns of very thick copper wire round an air core, discharging a very big EHT capacitor into it and at the point of zero cap voltage/maximum coil current when the coil is trying to expand outward (turning electrical energy (contained in the magnetic field) into mechanical energy - small coils explode even if the heating isnt enough to melt anything) you squash it, turning mechanical energy (from the detonating explosive chemical energy) into more energy for the magnetic field which after destruction of the coil leaves the device as a pulse.

nuclearattack
December 4th, 2004, 01:33 PM