View Full Version : Underwater AP cratermakers

Spoz
October 27th, 2005, 06:39 AM
Hi, since I recently acquired some nice underwater blasting fuse - a rarity in australia - Ive been playing around with underwater cratermakers filled with black powder. These were fun at first but they got boring pretty quickly.

Ive been thinking about using AP as a filler for these, but I have never made any HE before. Ive been reading this forum for probably over a year now so Ive come to see the different opinions on the sensetivity of AP and I have enough knowledge to make it.

What I wanted to know was, exactly how safe would putting AP into a CO2 cartridge be? How safe is it to press - does it even need pressing - how much pressure to use? How much should I use to ensure detonation, how safe is carrying them around?

These are all questions which have stopped me from synthesising AP (I have the precursors) and yes, it is a noobish question because I am a noob. But I would rather ask knowledgable people than blow my hand off finding out the hard way. If anyone here can answer some of the above questions or give me any tips for starting out, it would really be appreciated.

Undoubtedly someone will flame me for this, but "To be old and wise you must first be young and stupid"

Edit: Forgot to mention, the fuse hole needs to be 5mm (~3/16") to accomodate the fuse, might make a difference when it comes to pressing the AP

Stone
October 27th, 2005, 10:56 AM
Personally, I wouldn't ever put AP into a metal container, it's too unpredictable.

Pressing helps but again, unpredictable AP is not something you want to cause friction with if it's in a metal container.

Think of a pea(the green thngs you eat), then halve that... That much AP wll detonate.

Again, I wouldn't want to be anywhere near AP in a metal container let alone carry it to a test site.