View Full Version : Would this work to make Sulfuric Acid?

Declan
August 28th, 2006, 05:55 AM
Since sulfuric acid is getting harder to get around where I live, yet phosphoric acid (H3PO4) is still 7 bucks a gallon at Home Depot, I thought of this (MgSO4 is Epsom Salts, at the supermarket):

H3PO4+MgSO4-->H2SO4+Mg3(PO4)2

Of course not balanced. SO4 -2 is soluble with Mg 2+, so it would dissolve. PO4 2- is insoluble with Mg, so it could be filtered out maybe?

Also, H3PO4, already not a very strong acid, basically never reaches the conjugate base PO4 3-. Therefore, I think it would be more like:

H3PO4+MgSO4-->H2SO4+Mg3(PO4)2+MgHPO4+Mg(H2PO4)2

I'm probably missing something humongous here that'll make it all not work, but if it does, I found a good source for Sulfuric, at least for me, and possibly for more people when it becomes controlled in urban areas in the far future.

c.Tech
August 28th, 2006, 08:13 AM
I'm still learning chemistry and am not the best yet but here are some other methods which can be used.

Their fairly simple and have been around for a long time.

SO2 + H2O2 --> H2SO4

SO2 + NO2 --> SO3 + NO
2NO + O2 --> NO2
SO3 + H2O --> H2SO4

Skean Dhu
August 28th, 2006, 10:53 AM
Car batteries, and acid refills for them will work if you take the time to boil off the water(they're ~35% H2SO4)

While not the most economical path to sulfuric acid, they do work and for many people here that is their chosen route

Declan
August 28th, 2006, 02:15 PM
I'm still learning chemistry and am not the best yet but here are some other methods which can be used.

Their fairly simple and have been around for a long time.

SO2 + H2O2 --> H2SO4

SO2 + NO2 --> SO3 + NO
2NO + O2 --> NO2
SO3 + H2O --> H2SO4

Guys, I know that you can get in in batteries, and a number of other ways, but I was asking if this works.

By the way, it's generally:

S+O2-->SO2 burned in the presence of O2
2SO2+O2-->2SO3 oxidized with a vanadium catalyst