View Full Version : HNO3 with graham condenser

GTOzoom
November 13th, 2006, 07:06 PM
In one of my dreams, I purchased a graham condenser ('http://www.unitednuclear.com/other.htm)', and some NaNO3. I was looking into how to make white fuming nitric acid, but their really isnt any clear instructions. I am still looking for a source for sulphuric acid, but that shouldn't be a problem(I'll probably end up using a car battery.)

I was wondering if using this method would work and any possible ways to improve upon it:

Set up a boiling flask with a tube attached to the top which goes to the condenser. Run water through it, and boil the mix of H2SO4 and NaNO3. I beleive that 'pure' nitric acid should come out of the other end of the condenser and then I can just refine it with urea and boil it until it becomes white fuming. It just sounds a little to easy thats all. :cool:

I am an amateur chemist and I just want to make sure that I am not overlooking any details.

I will post pictures once the expiriment is set up.

wymanthescienceman
November 16th, 2006, 01:51 AM
What kind of connection are you going to use for the top of the condensor to the boiling flask? It obviously can't be rubber, and since it isn't a ground glass joint, you'll have a hard time finding something to use that isn't eaten by hot HNO3 vapor.

The only thing I would recommend is teflon, as it is one of the few things that isn't affected by HNO3. If you can't get a hold of that I guess chemical resistant PVC tubing could work, if you can get the right size to fit that thing.

You'll also probably need a distillation adapter that has a thermomoter port so you can read vapor temperature. But my guess is, unless you can find suitable materials, it won't work with that condensor. You should probably get a one piece retort or a all glass jointed distillation rig for nitric.