View Full Version : User details

NGfan
January 19th, 2007, 02:21 PM
Although I have read and agree with the rules in these forums, the user's details confuse me. It says 'Newbie' under my name, which is probably because I have only been registered for a month, but what affects the change in title? Can I post questions in places other than the water cooler if I am a newbie, even if I have contributed to the form in some way?
I'm thinking of a video/picture walkthrough on the synthesis of NG, and troubleshooting, but am sure it has probably been covered already. Should I, as I woldn't like to go through the whole process, post it up and be banned/flamed... Opinions wanted.

knowledgehungry
January 19th, 2007, 05:14 PM
Your title is based on how many posts you have and that is all(unless you are a moderator or NBK gives you the title "banned" or "asshat" or the like which means that you are no longer with us).

Be careful what you post. Don't ask silly questions outside of the Watercooler, always search before you ask a question or post a new topic. Don't respond to old topics unless you have something useful to add, not just witty. Look at the date the question was posted(if it was a question) and if it was more than a year ago assume that the person really doesn't care about the answer at this point, or has found it out themselves. If you truly have some new information to add to the topic, post away, just make sure that is worth it.

As to the NG find the existing threads on NG read them and make sure what you have will be beneficial if it is post it in the most related NG thread such as Manufacture of NG as opposed to detonation of NG. There is nothing I hate more than 25 different threads about the same topic that more or less say the same thing. Posting new RELEVANT information in an old thread is better than posting it in a separate thread IMHO, this makes the forum better organized and assimilation of data easier.

stupid939
January 19th, 2007, 06:01 PM