View Full Version : Poor man's Tiger Tails

Infragreen
February 21st, 2007, 09:27 PM
Okay, here goes...

I'm a noob here, I've read tons of good stuff and I'd like to return the favor.
I think I've done my homework (search and test) AND that I have a novel idea for any remote-ignition buffs out there.

I heard of a product named Tiger Tails (igniters for model rocket engines), that consisted of a single strip of conductor-isolator-conductor sandwich, with a blob of electrically sensitive pyro compound at one end.

The strip would be connected via a single clip, like a clothespin with a contact stud in each jaw.

This led me to figure out this dirt-cheap, kitchen-table-workshop igniter system.

You will need:
Cardboard (light, pizza boxes work fine),
aluminum foil (light kitchen type),
glue (stick, spray or spread-it-yourself),
adhesive tape
matches
something marginally heavy
scissors

First, cut a rectangle of cardboard (maybe 3x4"), then a rectangle of alu foil double one side of the cardboard (say 6x4").

Second, cover one side of the cardboard in glue, place it glue-down on the end of the aluminum and press/squeeze to ensure a good cohesion.

Third, cover the other side of the cardboard in glue, fold over the alu foil and carefully press/smooth over (rub with cotton, if you're a stickler for detail; makes for a fine gloss).

Fourth, cut into strips PERPENDICULAR to the side where the aluminum folds over (1/8 - 1/4").

Fifth, cut off the CORNERS ONLY of the ends with the bends. Go for a remaining alu strip of about 1/2 - 1 mm (.05" or as wide as a push-pencil lead, the thinner, the better).

Sixth (I hate this word; it makes me sound like Daffy Duck), crush matchheads (with heavy-ish object), place 2-3 heads worth on a strip of adhesive tape and wrap around the tip of each strip.

And there we are. I've had these thingies fire from a single D cell, 4 if on long leads.