View Full Version : Lead Styphnate as primer to Picric Acid (Questions)

peppovsky
April 11th, 2007, 07:24 PM
Hello. I'm new here, and the only reason I haven't posted this in the water cooler is... well, it is closed for now :-P

I have recently successfully synthesized some Styphnic Acid, has access to MgO and Pb(NO3)2, and I'm planning on making Lead Styphnate. I'm also planning to synthesize some Picric acid, since it should be relatively easier to make then Styphnic Acid. I have some experience in the area of pyrotechnics - so long distance electric ignition is not a problem, except maybe for the fact that it is for igniting pyro mixes, and I'm not sure if it would detonate Lead Styphnate by itself (Although the temperature itself is more then enough).

So here are my questions:

My plan is as following: press 4-5 gr. of Picric Acid to a 1 cm diameter tube, then on top of it press (carefully, of course ;-) ) 7-10 gr. of Lead Styphnate. Insert a pyrotechnic electric igniter to the LS area (one that burns quickly at over 400 degrees centigrade), and seal the cap.
Do you think that will detonate the Picric acid? Will it at least detonate the Lead Styphnate? Should I use larger amounts of primer Styphnate? Should I let the igniter ignite a flash mix that will, hopefully, ignite the LS? ...or am I looking at it all the wrong way, and I should use static electricity to ignite the LS in the first place?

nbk2000
April 12th, 2007, 12:32 AM
Questins about primary explosives, like LS, don't go in the HE section, but here.

Second, use proper smiley codes.

Regarding the question, you'd be using way too much LS!

100 milligrams of LS to 2 grams of PA would be more than adequate, assuming proper pressing and crystal size of the materials. All of which you can find by UTFSE. ;)

Bluebanshee
April 12th, 2007, 02:18 PM