View Full Version : Baseline Tests

dbooksta
May 8th, 2007, 01:33 AM
We need a suite of benchmark tests that can be setup by amateur chemists to determine the performance of explosives. You may see an explosion, but was it a detonation or just deflagration? How efficient was the reaction?

Rather than just confirming which chemicals go BOOM, and how, I would like to compare the maximum effects people are observing with specific compounds, densities, and detonators. If we build a common baseline of observations we can all draw more useful conclusions from our experiments.

I am not experienced enough to propose a set of benchmarks that would be useful for all explosives we contemplate here, but trying to create testbeds that would be widely accessible I would throw out the following ideas:

1. Plate Denting Test -- Rest charge on plate and detonate to see how big a hole it makes. Suggest using 1" MDF resting on 2x4's on 4 corners, instead of the traditional metal plate?

2. Rodman Penetration Test -- Explosive-backed piston drives hardened penetrator into soft target to see how far it goes. Suggest using 3 layers of 2x12 softwood against four 1/2" spikes resting on hard ground.

3. Ballistic Mortar Test -- Charge mounted under heavy projectile to see how high it blows. Not sure the best way to run this.

4. Ballistic Pendulum Test -- See how far charge can push a heavy weight with plugged lateral hole. Supposedly best measure of "heave." Is this one useful in the context of the others?

5. Fragmentation Test -- See how many / how small pieces are created by the confined charge. Suggest putting 1" schedule 40 steel pipe in 5 gallon bucket of water to trap fragments.

6. Hess/Trauzl Lead Block Compression/Expansion Tests. Not sure how easy it would be to find consistent and appropriate lead specimens. Besides, Trauzl is known to be inappropriate for aluminized compounds.