View Full Version : Found 2 liters of 70% nitric acid. What to do with it?

WEsailedfromPeru
July 27th, 2007, 02:15 AM
I just happened to find TWO LITERS of 70% Nitric acid sitting in a bottle on a shelf in my garage. The bottle is clear glass, but it was encased in opaque styrofoam. I have no idea how old it is. What worries me is that the cap seems to be plastic and it's wrapped in electrical tape. :eek:

I'm new with chemistry and I don't have the equipment to handle this stuff, though I'd like to be sure it's stored safely so that I can use it when I acquire the tools and knowledge to. How do I store this stuff properly? What do I need to buy in order to handle and keep it safely?

This is sort of an insane story so thanks for sticking with me here. Hopefully, I'll find more rare chemicals stashed away in my garage!

The_Duke
July 27th, 2007, 05:44 AM
Answers beyond your wildest dream await you, just follow the link...;)

Answers (http://www.roguesci.org/theforum/search.php)

Also note that we have a dedicated section here for nitric acid discussion, you have therefore broken several of our rules (n00bs starting new topics is also against the rules in most cases). These are only just a few reasons why we discourage most n00bs from starting new threads.

Shalashaska
July 27th, 2007, 01:09 PM
As for using it, if you're not familiar with nitric acid at all, read up a lot (using link mentioned above ;)) about precautions and syntheses.
If you wanted to get into some serious stuff, you're going to need to distill it to get upwards of 90%, but what you've got now should do you for nitroglycerin, E/PGDN, and various mono, di, and tri nitrations, depending on the specific compound.

megalomania
August 5th, 2007, 02:49 AM
I'll give you the same answer I give to anyone who tells me they found a chemical and wants to know what to do with it: Give it to me...