View Full Version : Learning to Use SolidWorks 2008

megalomania
January 27th, 2008, 11:33 AM
I want to move beyond my usual poorly hand drawn sketches of designs and plans for things, so I thought I would try Autodesk Inventor Pro 2008. I have never used engineering software before, and I am not much for graphics, so this is all quite new to me. I would like to learn to use the engineering software so I can plan detailed schematics beforehand. I sometimes fall into the measure once, cut twice category, or rather I do too much designing in my head which leads to getting the wrong components, not getting the right components, and figuring out I need additional components along the way.

The software is very daunting, even to an experienced computer user such as me. I tried to follow along with a few of the help files, but I could not get my stuff to do the things they were showing. I can’t seem to find any video tutorials, video training material, or even training books for Inventor Pro 2008. My preferred method of learning stuff like this is to watch a training video, I learn best that way, and for graphics related stuff I think videos are better all around.

I don’t know if Inventor Pro is too new yet, but I didn’t find any Inventor training materials on the net. Perhaps I am looking in the wrong places. I don’t frequent engineering sites, I just stick to the usual places that make video training material like Lynda, Total Training, etc. I found training vids for other Autodesk products, just not Inventor. I found a few short help guides and brief tutorials on doing a few things, but I am really looking for a more in depth training starting from the basics and covering what all the damn buttons do. I think the one tutorial I found was for building an aircraft fuselage, a bit too complicated for me to jump right in, and not what I am going to use Inventor for.