View Full Version : Hypothetically how can someone with limited tools make ammunition from scratch?

No-one
April 19th, 2008, 08:17 AM
I am 17 (I remembered by age for once :) ) and based in England where gun are pretty much illegal without crap loads of licensing and I have no intention breaking the law. At this moment in time knowledge is not illegal and I have always been curious in such matters.

Now I have a mini-lathe with reasonably adequate tools and moderate skill. I have some experience in casting and making green sand molds and plaster and good knowledge on pyrotechnics as I have many friends in the business. As well I am studying Maths, chemistry, Physics and D&T with a B grade predicted.

Setting the standard I am going to ask how to make .45ACP rounds but really it just the process I am interested in rather than any particular type but if we say suitable for the 1911 it probably gives people an idea of what I mean.

What I want to know is with the knowledge and resources available to me would it be possible to make said items and also how it would be done quickly and cheaply. I want to know how to make the lot case, primer, bullet and propellant so all information is good

I would like to emphasize this now I have no intention of making said rounds as I have seen what can happen when messing around with just cardboard tubes and pyrotechnic powders and subbing the card for metal sort of puts me off...

But any info regarding the subject would be much appreciated.