View Full Version : Simple revolver design aka the "Manual Revolver"

iHME
October 2nd, 2008, 04:06 PM
On the " Hypothetically how can someone with limited tools make ammunition from scratch?" thread the idea of a manually rotated revolver came up.
Well I drew up some crude prints for it. They are mainly to show the idea.
I encourage members to make better ones.
The idea is to create a simple multi shot capable firearm.

If one has a very good drill press the cylinder could be bored with it.

I recommend studying JACO Designs, they have very simple trigger systems.
And they could be adapted to fit our needs.

Now that I have the thread started I'll draw some prints.

Please don't crucify me for my bad drawings. I'm no graphic artist. :o

tomu
October 4th, 2008, 09:05 PM
Actually, a very good idea. A quite simple design with a the neccassary cylinder locking/indexing mechanism under the barrel. Very simple SA-Trigger.

If you are carefully in laying out the cylinder borings/chambers this could be easily done with basic tools.

IIRC there were some pictures of a homemade simple handturned revolver like this made by a russian guy some where on the web, unfortunately I can't find the link nor the photos on my PC.

a3990918
October 8th, 2008, 07:27 PM

Here is a plan from Paladin Press for a revolver-knife that is, I believe, basically the same as you are describing. The cylinder is rotated by hand after each shot and is of a single action design. Of course this could be modified to a standard handgun configuration.

http://rapidshare.com/files/152189745/ebook_-_Paladin_Press_Series_on_Improvised_Firearms_-_The_Revolver_Knife.pdf

No Pass:

Hirudinea
October 8th, 2008, 08:22 PM