View Full Version : homebrew blackpowder to cartridge conversion

thunderchicken
November 25th, 2008, 11:02 PM
Hello All.

I am looking forward to being a member of this forum.

I am a welder by trade and an amateur home gunsmith , my main interest is single action pistols, lever action rifles and double barrel shotguns.

I recently bought 2 1851 navy copies very cheap both need a lot of cosmetic work and small parts replaced, I have researched conversions online and only find the commercial offered kits. I found one item while doing a pattern search but no real tech to try my own.

I have an Idea and would like input to see if it is possible and to let me know if I'm missing any steps.

Here is what I have 2, 36 cal BP revolvers, a 22lr barrel from an old Stevens single shot rifle, a metal shop and a friend with a milling machine.

I am thinking if I drill out the BP barrel and cylinder to say .380 (cylinder is at current .376) then have the old 22 barrel milled to fit as an insert into the BP barrel and cylinder. Weld them in place, then do the finishing touches such as modding the hammer to rimfire, etc etc. After all is said and done I am thinking I would have a nice 22 lr 1851 pistol.

Would I have to remove the barrelling from the sections of barrel I would be using in the cylinder, if yes would it just be easier to use round stock and millet to fit ?

I hope this is worded right, I know in my cluttered little mind what I'm thinking and wanting to do and hope I have given enough info for commenting back on.

Thanks and I look forward to being here on The Forum

crazywhiteguy
November 26th, 2008, 07:31 PM