Author Topic: Halogenated Tryptamines?  (Read 2897 times)

Psiloman

Halogenated Tryptamines?
« on: September 25, 2003, 09:33:00 PM »
Well,first of al let me say that this is my first post to the hive.I have basic chemistry knowledge but nothing too advanced (in other words ,i cannot perform complex synthesis nor i have a lab)  ;)

My question is pretty straightforward.Are there any halogenated tryptamines and what is known about them and their effects? It strikes me as weird seeing so much alkyl "playing around" in the tryptamine world (TiHkal for example) and no halogenated compounds.For PEAs  halogen substitution has given some amazing results (2c-b ,2c-I) ,why not try it on a tryptamine as well?

I used the search engine but i could not find anything on that,except tryptamines used in radiolabbeling.

Sidequestion:Why is there such an aboundancy of PEAS and not so many tryptamines? (Compare the number of PEAs presented in Pihkal and the number of tryptamines in Tihkal).Is it because the indole ring has less places for substitution.

Sorry if my questions were "naive" but believe me,i did a lot of research to no avail.

With Honour,
Psiloman

Rhodium

Tryptamines cost a lot and are harder to make
« Reply #1 on: September 25, 2003, 10:04:00 PM »
Why is there such an aboundancy of PEAS and not so many tryptamines?

Because the chemistry required for synthesizing phenethylamines is much easier than that of tryptamines, both in regards to the skill required as well as the number of methods available for performing a certain chemical transformation.

It's also a question of economy, the starting materials required for the syntheses of many common tryptamines can easily cost between 10-100 times as much as the ones used for the most common phenethylamines - A quick look through the Acros catalog gives the following prices:

4-Hydroxyindole (for psilocin, etc): €118/1g
5-Methoxyindole (for 5-MeO-DMT, etc): €65/5g
4-Methoxyindole (for 4-MeO-DMT, etc): €91/500mg