Author Topic: Cocaine freebase  (Read 1692 times)

pickler

Cocaine freebase
« on: March 06, 2002, 10:03:00 PM »
Swim was reading over at the Lycaeum and ran acroos this method for cocaine freebase:
Mix about 1 g of coke in 10 ml of water in a small vial. Slowly add drops of ammonia to the solution. A white milky precipitate will form. Stop adding ammonia when additional drops no longer result in precipitation. Add 5 ml of ethyl ether, close vial, and shake. The precipitate (freebase) will dissolve in the ether. Siphon off the ether with a pipette (ether and water don't mix), and slowly drip it on a plate. As the ether evaporates, white crystals will form. This is the evil freebase. Crush the crystals and put under a heat lamp for at least 24 hrs to let the solvent evaporate.
Now swim is wondering is there anything that can be substituted for the ether in this synth?

We'll soon FIND OUT if I'm a chemist or not!

Rhodium

Re: Cocaine freebase
« Reply #1 on: March 07, 2002, 03:06:00 AM »
The ether is just acting as a non-polar solvent to extract the liberated freebase from the aqueous layer. Any water-immiscible solvent should work, but try to choose one with as low boiling point as possible, to make evaporation easier.

terbium

« Reply #2 on: March 07, 2002, 04:05:00 AM »
Cocaine freebase, unlike methamphetamine freebase, is very soluble in petroleum ether.

pickler

« Reply #3 on: March 07, 2002, 06:03:00 AM »
thanks ;)

Argox

« Reply #4 on: March 07, 2002, 11:32:00 AM »