Author Topic: mixing of safrole and isosafrole  (Read 1970 times)

pickler

mixing of safrole and isosafrole
« on: March 01, 2002, 02:59:00 AM »
Swim was over at chemfinder and looked up safrole and isosafrole. Safrole has a density of 1.095 and the isosafrole at 1.12 :o Now swim mixed a small amount of iso and safrole and expected the iso to go to the bottom and safrole on top. Nothing happened. Is this because it is essentially the same substance? Swim figured if anything did happen, it would take a little while considering how close the two are in density. Still nothing though. Any ideas? :P

We'll soon FIND OUT if I'm a chemist or not!

Rhodium

Re: mixing of safrole and isosafrole
« Reply #1 on: March 01, 2002, 03:10:00 AM »
The density argument does not hold when the two liquids are miscible with each other. If you mix water and coffee (which have slightly different density), they will not form separate layers, but instead a homogenous solution. The same thing goes for safrole/isosafrole.

Only when immiscible liquids (like toluene/water) are poured into the same container, one will float on top, and that is the one with the lowest density.

cheeseboy

« Reply #2 on: March 02, 2002, 09:13:00 AM »
It would be hard to tell unless the safrole and isosafrole were different colours. Put a few drops of dye in the iso and then mix them, wait and see. But like Big R says, they are miscible and wont form a layer. But somehow cheese thinks that after time the two WOULD form two layers because they are oily. Cheese don't know sheeeit. What are you trying to get out of this experiment anyhow pickles? It's fun to fuck around though, cheese wishes cheese had enough safrole to play around with it. :)

Cheeseboy-a whiteboy with Soul Like a black guy without soul
May The Source Bee With You Always.

ChemicalSolution

« Reply #3 on: March 02, 2002, 03:36:00 PM »
Lets say for instance you had a mix of iso and safrole.. You could certainly find out what % of each is present.