Author Topic: dcm, toulene, methanol  (Read 9202 times)

pickler

dcm, toulene, methanol
« on: February 04, 2002, 11:26:00 PM »
Swim was at the auto parts store and ran across an item that contained dcm, toulene, and methanol in a spray can. Swim was wondering what would be the best way to seperate the dcm from the other two. Any ideas?

We'll soon FIND OUT if I'm a chemist or not!

PoohBear4Ever

Re: dcm, toulene, methanol
« Reply #1 on: February 04, 2002, 11:40:00 PM »
Distillation by boiling point as long as temperatures are far enough apart, and no azeotropes form.  SWIP found a can containing DCM + Propane(as the propellant); however, the liquid look milky upon being dispensed..

PB

*BTW, can repeated (fractional?) seperation reduce the concentration of one of the components within the azeotropic solution?

Vibrating_Lights

« Reply #2 on: February 05, 2002, 04:30:00 AM »
Wash the methanol out with water.  Then distill.
VL_

pickler

« Reply #3 on: February 05, 2002, 05:34:00 AM »
Swim was reading some older posts about dcm and found some interesting stuff. After searching on the net found a distributor for dcm under flushing solvent. Swim needs to start saving the dcm he uses instead of throwing it out .

PoohBear4Ever

« Reply #4 on: February 05, 2002, 06:08:00 AM »
Yes, and you should also have learnt a thing or two about plexi-glass, as well...

;) ,

PB

pickler

« Reply #5 on: February 05, 2002, 07:23:00 AM »
Pooh, swim tried the plexiglass route and gave up. Couldn't find anything. Maybe swim was looking in the wrong places.

Chromic

« Reply #6 on: February 05, 2002, 12:17:00 PM »