Author Topic: benzo wacker  (Read 1491 times)

pickler

benzo wacker
« on: April 26, 2002, 09:04:00 PM »
Swim is no stranger to the benzo wacker, but he's having some problems for the first time. Swim did the  MM wacker, extracted oil with dcm, washed with naoh solution to clear up ketone. Dcm/oil layer became the color of antifreeze as usual. Swim loaded the dcm/ketone mix into a 1 liter flask and distilled off the dcm.The bath temp was ~43c. Then tried to distill the ketone and it's not there.Only about 50ml of dark red shit in the flask. This is the first time this has happened to swim and he doesn't know why. Where did the ketone go? Did it polymerize? If so, how? temp was only ~43c.

We'll soon find out if I'm a chemist or not!

VinnyC

not polymerized
« Reply #1 on: April 28, 2002, 08:42:00 AM »
If it polymerized you would know.., the contents in the flask would of grown quite big and became somewhat of a solid..

Whats your pump pulling at?? How much safrole did you retrieve?? Workin with pure safrole?? Check to see if your safrole is indeed that by of course.. boiling point check.

"Have we descended to the level of dumb beasts?" Fear & Loathing
Be loved and blessed hp and cg!!

pickler

VinnyC- Swim's pump Pulls safrole over at 70-72c ...
« Reply #2 on: April 29, 2002, 01:12:00 AM »
VinnyC-  Swim's pump Pulls safrole over at 70-72c and the safrole was distilled twice and was pure. When trying to distill ketone, got ~10ml of safrole back and that's it.

Hydro- Green tint was seen before the dcm was distiled off. After dcm was gone, only dark red/ brown goo.

locrian

Reply to 'VinnyC- Swim's pump Pulls safrole over a
« Reply #3 on: May 06, 2002, 11:32:00 PM »