Author Topic: Newbie question  (Read 3798 times)

abolt

Newbie question
« on: November 11, 2002, 04:20:00 AM »
Hello good folks out there in the Hive, I am new to the Hive and, after extensive reading and research, am about to embark on my first synthesis. I am hoping I can get some feedback on a synthesis from RHODIUM’S site entitled “MDP2P FROM SAFROLE USING H2SO4 AND NH4NO3” which entails the following procedure:

Collect clean Safrole and chill to 0 c. in a freezer.
 Prepare 80% H2SO4 and also chill to 0.c in freezer.
Add 20g. CHILLED Safrole to 250ml. R.B.F, placed upon stirrer in ice/salt bath (-5.C).
Place CHILLED 80% H2SO4 in CHILLED drop funnel and add to Safrole at 3 drops per second.
After this addition, put 80ml. CHILLED DH20 in drop funnel and add to H2SO4/ALKENE at 3-4 drops per second.
 When finished place contents of 250ml. R.B.F. into sep. funnel, add salt, discard lower portion, dry over MG2SO4, to reveal 20-22 g. of MDP2Pol.
 Combine 20g. MDP2Pol to 20g. NH4SO3 and CHILL, in a R.B.F, in an ice bath, add 30 ml. G.A.A., a “dash” of CUPRIC ACETATE and 5 ml. DH2O.
Gently heat for 10-15 mins, cool mixture, filter, separate RAW MDP2P layer from liquid portion via 3x D.C.M., combine extracts, dry over MG2SO4 and evaporate D.C.M. to yield 20g. red/yellow oil.
Filter through SILICA/BUCHNER to yield 19-20g. MDP2P.

The write-up is incoherent and there is also a disclaimer questioning the validity of this process, so could anyone please let me know:

Does this process, in fact, work? And if so
Have I interpreted it correctly?
Can store bought AMMONIUM NITRATE be used?
If it has any additives will this affect this process?
Could dry ice be used in the cooling process or will this be too cold and freeze the DH2O/G.A.A. content?