Author Topic: Accident while Gassing Pseudo  (Read 3888 times)

SHORTY

Accident while Gassing Pseudo
« on: May 17, 2004, 06:56:00 PM »
I recently made a big mistake while gassing a batch of pseudo.  I was using my homemade gassing appartus which basically consist of a 6 liter plastic bottle with calcium chloride and hcl in it.  I have been using the same bottle for the last 4-5 months adding more of the chemicals whenever necessary.  The bottle was now nearly 3/4 of the way full of calcium chloride and has been an excellent source of gas up until i made a big mistake.

I wanted to add some more acid and accidently grabbed a bottle of 18% H2o2 and added some to the apparatus.  I didn't realize what i had done until seconds later when i was already gassing my pseudo.  The xylene suddenly turned green and a very strong chlorine odor started to fill the air.  Luckily i was outside.

This happened after i had already been gassing the pseudo so there was alot of pseudo precipitated out in the xylene when the shit turned green.

I recovered the pseudo and proceeded as usual noting that the pseudo was just as clean if not cleaner than usual.  However i now wonder if i had changed the pseudo during the process and whether i should bee concerned about using it.

I went ahead and used it in a hypo rxn which is still refluxing and now wonder whether it will bee safe to smoke or not?

SHORTY

Rhodium, Os, ?
« Reply #1 on: May 18, 2004, 11:04:00 PM »
Doesn't anyone know if the addition of 18%H2o2 to a hcl gas apparatus using calcium chloride to generate the gas would cause any change to pseudo if the gas was then bubbled through the pseudo while it was in xylene? 

The xylene turned green and had a very strong chlorine odor.(like the chlorine used in swimming pools but alot stronger).

The product looks ok but i have yet to try it.

amalgum

H2O2 will oxidise halogen ions.
« Reply #2 on: May 18, 2004, 11:47:00 PM »