Author Topic: One More Time...  (Read 4726 times)

Stan_desCline

One More Time...
« on: September 24, 2004, 04:51:00 PM »
The last time I asked I got a discussion on the purity of OTC acetone so here goes again.
  I have been using the same procedure for about three years since discovering it by accident. It never fails.

1. Grind pills very fine in coffee grinder. Most recent try was with 240 mg Pseudo/loratadine 14.99 for 15.

2. Rinse twice with 20 degree C. OTC acetone. I use about 300 ml per rinse. Can label says "100% pure". Soak 10 minutes or so until powder settles back to the bottom then decant acetone and save pill powder.

3. Make a solution of 1 gram of OTC lye and about 30 ml OTC 95% ethanol. This takes some crushing and stirring, and sometimes I add another 10 - 15 ml ethanol. Solution gets very thick.

4. So, with 45 or so ml of lye/ethanol mixture, I add it to dried, double acetone washed pill powder. Stir, stir, stir. Mixture becomes thick paste.

5. Add 50 ml OTC acetone. Yes, the same acetone from the same can. Apparently, pseudo FB is acetone soluble where HCl salt is not. After addition, stir, stir, stir.

6. After 10 min or so, when powder settles back to bottom, decant acetone into that Pyrex pie dish of yours and evaporate. Result is lots of fishy smelling shards of glassy crystals. scrape them up, and they get a little yellow, but no worrys.

7. Use these fine, clear FB crystals in reaction of your choice. (RP/I or Li/NH3). Makes good clean shit.

So... Any feedback? Anyone ever try this method?  ;D

geezmeister

who'd have thought
« Reply #1 on: September 24, 2004, 08:23:00 PM »
Who would have thought it was that simple?  ::)

Ummm...what you planning on making out of that stuff, anyway? And how much of it do you expect to get? How does the loratadine burn on foil, by the way? :P