Author Topic: Equipment for distilling safrole at 238°C  (Read 2406 times)

XrLeap

Equipment for distilling safrole at 238°C
« on: March 11, 2004, 11:24:00 PM »
Hi, I am new to the hive:)

Currently, SWIM is tasked to get about 20kg of safrole out of sassy per day. What SWIM has seen from Rhodium.ws are methods using fractional vacuum distillation. If the volume is big(in this case 20kg), there is chance to get impolsion. The question SWIM is asking is can SWIM do the distilling like distilling water under atm pressure at 238°C? Will the yield be lesser(yield is important in SWIM's case)? Does SWIM need a stirrer like stated in Brightstar's syn?

Thanks for all the kind replies(if any:)).

Rhodium

You always start small, and work upwards...
« Reply #1 on: March 12, 2004, 12:25:00 PM »
If you need to ask this, you are not well suited to the task of producing 20g of safrole per day.

ApprenticeCook

Pretty cuffs
« Reply #2 on: March 12, 2004, 12:54:00 PM »
What kind do you like? pink or blue fluffy ones? coz if your getting 20kg of sassy ANYWHERE you will be involved in a setup and be arrested, sheduled substance the dea is all over it like flys on shit.

Even if you were being serious about have 20kg (per day?) you cant do it all at once yes you'll implode, do small batches under reduced atmosphere, doing it at 238 @ 1atm is hard as that higher a temp is too hard to stabilise, and you'll burn the oil before it starts to distill, end up with fuck all of nothing.

20kg, dont be an idiot, if anyone in any country offers you 20kg its the drug squad/agency whatever, ie your fucked. And distillation of ~800g takes about 6ish hours to get decent yeild and purity.

If you had maybe 20 vac stills working in unicen, yeh maybe but otherwise your dreamin.

Rhodium is right, if you have to ask a question like that your in the wrong place.

XrLeap

Thanks Rhodium. SWIM can have as much as sassy
« Reply #3 on: March 12, 2004, 04:08:00 PM »