Author Topic: Self-Taught Chemists  (Read 2178 times)

chemical_shaman

Self-Taught Chemists
« on: April 20, 2002, 07:25:00 AM »
Hello everyone,

I'm am planning on taking some college chemistry classes this fall. I know that some of the underground chemists in the 60's and 70's taught themselves how to perform various syntheses. I was wondering if anyone here has taught themselves and been successful. I know that "The Organic Chem Lab Survival Manual" is a good place to start. Anybody here have any more suggestions?

hsark

UTFSE
« Reply #1 on: April 20, 2002, 07:48:00 AM »
There are lots of references to books on the hive. Also if you look in the NEWBEE FORUM there is a ref. at the top for books for beginers. But taking classes is also a very good idea.Good luck. And bee safe.

greeter

learning...
« Reply #2 on: April 20, 2002, 08:20:00 AM »
Remember that every chemist ultimately teaches him or herself.  By that I mean that learning is an investment of your time in study and practice.  If you choose to go to a school for your learning you simply equip yourself with better tools with which to study.  The best chemists are the ones that love to do it, who love to study it, who live it (ring any bells around here ;-).  I'm sure there are quite a few people out there with Chemistry degrees who really don't care for it and now have nothing to do with it.  If you love doing it, set yourself up with the best tools you can and go for it (study like mad)!

($.02 from the peanut gallery)

foxy2

yes
« Reply #3 on: April 20, 2002, 08:43:00 AM »
greeter

My suggestion is to read, no questions, just read
Read and attempt to understand the chemistry forums here and ALL of Rhodiums page.  Search google if you have a question.
Use the links in the sticky links thread at the Methods forum, it can answer many questions

Those who give up essential liberties for temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety

zed

It kept lifting me higher!