Author Topic: safrol question  (Read 1302 times)

ekolo

safrol question
« on: January 19, 2004, 01:50:00 PM »
i started to extract safrol from sassafras oil by freezing it out i got about 60ml of safrol from 100 by this methode. now i know that there is more safrol so i went on with destiling the rest about 40ml it was dificult because its my first try with destilation(i tried to learn the destilation by this so it took me 4 tryes before i got this result) so here comes my question from the 40ml i got some 25-30ml but its not safrole colour its yellowish of colur it smels of safrole it reflekts light. but it dose not look like the safrole i got from freezing methode. is this safrole or what.

i vacuum destiled it at 120 mmHg it came over at 185-190C.

methlab

safrol is waterwhite and refracts the light...
« Reply #1 on: January 19, 2004, 04:52:00 PM »
Hi! I am newbee too, started one month ago. Today i consumed my first product, it worked !