Author Topic: very easy thick foil/nitro method  (Read 3000 times)

wacko_reaco

very easy thick foil/nitro method
« on: February 06, 2002, 03:41:00 PM »
.3mm al foil, into shards with a guillotine, 1L of methanol/100g MDP2P, 1g Hg(whatever)/L solvent, 1g nitro/1g Al, 1.2g ketone/1g Al. Amalgamate foil, slowly drip in all of nitro over three hours, thenm drip in MDP2P with heating to maintain reflux, after total 12hrs workup as per reynolds nitro method.
less solvent, less flask size, greater yeilds
you work out the details
but it works
trust me i am a doctor

wacka wacka wacka

blaztoff

Re: very easy thick foil/nitro method
« Reply #1 on: February 06, 2002, 04:14:00 PM »
Have you actually done this. MDP2P and ketone are the same fucking thing. SWIM say this would end up wasting a hell of a lot of ketone. Baal has preety much improved this as much as you can for newbees.

UKBEE

« Reply #2 on: February 06, 2002, 05:43:00 PM »
he seems to be a tad confused.... poor little chap  ;)

I love the smell of Ketone in the morning.

LaBTop

« Reply #3 on: February 06, 2002, 08:07:00 PM »
Well, I'll try to write it down a bit more obvious/clear and see where we end then:

You take 0.3 mm thick aluminium foil, cut it into pieces of x? cm by x? cm with a papercutter.

The ratios of the involved chemicals are as follows:
1L of methanol per every 100g MDP2P (ketone),
1g Hg(whatever salt) per Liter solvent (MeOH in this case),
1g nitromethane per 1g Al,
1.2g ketone per 1g Aluminium foil.

Amalgamate the aluminium foil with the Hg salt,
slowly drip in all of the ketone over three hours (drip in the MDP2P with heating to maintain reflux) [PERHAPS HE MEANT TO WRITE IT THIS WAY??] , after total 12hrs workup as per reynolds nitro method (what the fuck he means with that? MM, Baal, Osmium, WHUT?).
less solvent, less flask size, greater yeilds.

So, let's see where that leads to for example with 120 gram ketone (MDP2P):
120 gram ketone
100 gram Alu foil
100 gram Nitromethane