Author Topic: Ketone purification via NaI  (Read 1495 times)

TheBlindGenius

Ketone purification via NaI
« on: October 29, 2002, 06:42:00 PM »
I was visiting Rhodium's site a few days ago and perusing the links to see what I understand better now that I have some college chemistry experience under my belt and I ran into Hellman's ketone purification technique using sodium iodide.  I have some questions about the method.  First, is it any better than the bisulfite method (i.e. does it purify ketone to a larger extent)?  Second, I don't understand how it doesn't polymerize the ketone, since you have to bring it to reflux, maybe even twice!  Don't you have to reach the boiling point of a substance to reflux?

Osmium

Since the desired reaction seems to take place at ...
« Reply #1 on: October 30, 2002, 04:47:00 AM »
Since the desired reaction seems to take place at a sufficient rate when lower ketones are refluxed, it shouldn't be necessary to heat MDP2P etc. all the way to their reflux temperatures. I assume 50-100°C should be sufficient in that case.

I'm not fat just horizontally disproportionate.

madprosr

swim is curious about this method too, there ...
« Reply #2 on: November 01, 2002, 11:12:00 AM »
swim is curious about this method too, there seems to be a shortage of trials with actual yields posted... like for impure ketone (peracid/oxone/wacker) and foronce-distilled ketone. props to hellman for reading Vogel's, but hellski can go suck a fat dick. and hellman's yields (20g from 60g red ketone) are quite unappealing.

swim added 1.5ml ~= 1.2g acetone (58g/mol) to 1g NaI (150g/mol) (should be a slight excess of acetone if it really bonds 3:1) at room temp, then put in on an ice bath. completely crystallizes in 1h. yielded 1.3g, not quite right.
slowly decomposes at room temp releasing iodine (turns paper black).