Author Topic: A dumb question about hydrazine  (Read 3063 times)

flipper

A dumb question about hydrazine
« on: May 05, 2002, 11:35:00 AM »
Are these two syntheses the same

2NH3+NaOCl------>NH2-NH2
NH2-NH2+H2SO4------>NH2-NH2.H2SO4

and this

N2 + 4H2O + 4e-  ---> 4OH + NH2-NH2 (Raschig route)

I know i'm a amateur but redox and the shit with electrons are fucking my mind. 

You've gotta love me.

Rhodium

No, it is two distinct synthetic routes where in ...
« Reply #1 on: May 05, 2002, 12:11:00 PM »
No, it is two distinct synthetic routes where in the first ammonia is oxidized to hydrazine with sodium hypochlorite, and in the second nitrogen gas is reduced to hydrazine.

2 NH3 -Oxidation-> NH2-NH2 <-Reduction- N2

flipper

Something I've found
« Reply #2 on: May 05, 2002, 02:21:00 PM »
I've found some things on the web

It is a viscious cycle beginning and ending with ammonia (NH3) and hydrazine (N2H2). First amm. and sodium hypochlorite form hydrazine: 2NH3 + NaOCl --> N2H4 + NaCl + H2O. Chloramine (NH2Cl) is formed with ammonia and hypochlorite: NH3 + OCl- --> NH2Cl + OH-. Then chloramine converts back to hydrazine and aqueous chlorine: NH2Cl + NH3 --> N2H5+ + Cl-.

Anyway, chloramine is a generic term used to describe either NH2Cl (monochloramine) or NHCl2 (dichloramine). They are formed by reacting hypochlorous acid with ammonia:
Start with chlorine to get hydrochloric acid and hypochlorous acid (HOCL):
Cl2 + H2O = HCl + HOCl (This is a pH dependant *equilibrium*.)
Add ammonia:
NH3 + HOCl = NH2Cl + H2O
Add more chlorine:
NH2Cl +HOCl = NHCl2 + H2O
Add too much chlorine:
2NHCl2 + H2O = HOCl + 3H+ + 3Cl- + N2

For chlorine, the reaction with sodium thiosulfate is:
2Na2S2O3 + Cl2 = 2NaCl + Na2S4O6

I won't guess on the reaction with chloramine and sodium thiosulfate, but it seems perfectly reasonable the common report of releasing ammonia into the water when attempting to neutralize chloramine with sodium thiosulfate.