Author Topic: Difference between Ephedrine and Psudoephedrine?  (Read 35689 times)

Kirt

Difference between Ephedrine and Psudoephedrine?
« on: December 22, 1999, 03:48:00 PM »

I am a beginner to the chemistry field and could someone tell me the difference between Ephedrine and Psudoephedrine? Can a person extract the E needed out of ephedrine as well as he/she can from psudoephedrine? What ingrediants need I look for that I do not want?? Someone, Please? Also, here is a dumb one, what is H2O2?

------------------

I'm out! The Captain

hypo

Re: Difference between Ephedrine and Psudoephedrine?
« Reply #1 on: December 22, 1999, 06:59:00 PM »
E differs from P by configuration on the carbon bearing the OH-group. Since OH group is probably what you want to remove, P is as good as E.

H2O2 is hydrogen peroxide. I suggest that you do not proceed to the experimentation level until you get some chemistry intro.

Kirt

« Reply #2 on: December 22, 1999, 10:18:00 PM »
Hey Hypo, I know my questions sound dumb but I already had a dream and it was a beautiful one! The yeild could use a little improving but the dream was sweet! I just ain't to hip on all the chemcal terms! WHich would be very helpful if I were! So one can extract good e from ephedrine just as well as psudoephidrine? I was told awhile back that the ephedrine pills were not what I wanted! It was the psudo only!
Anyone help me understand Y this would be true?

------------------

I'm out! The Captain

Android

« Reply #3 on: December 23, 1999, 01:47:00 PM »
The only difference that's important to me between the two, is psuedo's readily available where I live. That, and I don't care for the high the Ephedrine reduced meth gives me. Leans more towards the adrenaline and not enough euphoria.
Chemically, they're mirror images of each other. Kinda like a newbee and a gnat.

------------------
"ARROGANT & CYNICAL"
(Ticklish,too!)

mrr pyrex

« Reply #4 on: December 23, 1999, 02:32:00 PM »