Author Topic: Help! SDS/ALS, et al... please?  (Read 1878 times)

Psi_Locybe

Help! SDS/ALS, et al... please?
« on: March 02, 2003, 09:55:00 AM »
I have an immense, life-and-death need to sequence my own X chromosome.  Thankfully ('cause I'm a tad... slow), the 'death' side of this isn't quite terribly immediate.

Unfortunately, I'm an utter ghetto chemist - and not the best one at that; bear with a newbee?  (yes, I *know* it says 'Hive Bee;' I also know I'm an idiot)

Necessity 1 : Sodium Dodecyl Sulfate (SDS)

This is in shampoo (it's also known as 'sodium lauryl sulfate,' often (apparently) in high enough degree to make it cheaper than buying it online - plus, worst comes to worse, I can just have friends steal shampoo samples from the hotel they work at...

...some shampoos contain ammonium lauryl sulfate; I may be an idiot, but I *should* be able to convert.  ;)  (Cook baking soda at 500f for 3-5 hours, and...)

Does anyone know properties/solubilities of SDS/ALS?  A simple 15-common-solvent wash/precipitation?  ;)  Means of chromatographic determination with a ghetto lab?  (...it rather looks like it would be hard as hell to swap sodium for, say, tryptamine, track acids under blacklight...then again, how weak an acid *is* dodecyl sulfate?  Can I swap with a little tryptamine acetate, let the strong acid and the strong base leave the weaker acid and the weaker base?)

Protienase K :
So - company X wants $600/g for it.  What part of my flesh do I eviscerate and chromatograph to aqquire it?  Better yet, what common food product contains it, ideally?  Beef liver?  Again, any hints at tracking the damned thing?

Alternately, is there anything else which will maul complex protiens into dissolveable chunks leaving DNA intact? 

Phenol :
...err, the closest I can immediately come is paradiphenol (baking soda at 500f again, and a few mothballs)... I don't suppose the protien fragments are soluble in Zippo fluid, by any chance?