Author Topic: Hydroquinone amination?  (Read 4408 times)

Lestat

Hydroquinone amination?
« on: May 24, 2004, 11:48:00 AM »
SWIM has hydroquinone (photographic grade Aq. soln.) SWIM wonders if it is possible to replace one of hydroxyls with an -NH2 group, forming hydroxyamphetamine or perhaps simultaneously methylate and add the amino group, to form MDA?

Bandil

Elaborate further
« Reply #1 on: May 24, 2004, 11:53:00 AM »
Could you please try to explain your idea a little more clearly? I have a very hard time understanding how you plan on turning hydroquinone intro hydroxyamphetamine? And going from there to MDA? Better have some unknown killer reaction idea's tucked away, otherwise I think your project is doomed!

Regards
Bandil

Lestat

I am really new to this.
« Reply #2 on: May 24, 2004, 12:07:00 PM »
no, i screwed up. What I was actually thinking would be to replace one hydroxyl on the hydroquinone with -NH2 giving hydroxyamphetamine, then removing the remaining hydroxyl to leave amphetamine base. I am totally new to this, I do have some (not too good) chem. experience but this seems like a good possible start point to me.

Is it workable at all, or just a stupid n00b idea?

Barium

Changing one -OH in hydroquinone to a -NH2...
« Reply #3 on: May 24, 2004, 12:40:00 PM »
Changing one -OH in hydroquinone to a -NH2 will just give you p-OH-anilline. Just out of curiousity, how would you perform this conversion?

Lestat

Not sure.
« Reply #4 on: May 24, 2004, 12:56:00 PM »
That's what i wasn't sure about, my chemistry experience isn't that great, pretty much limited to high school and some pyrotechnics, but I am just starting to try and learn about drug chemistry, I got the idea from the list of possible precursors on rhodium's site.

ApprenticeCook

that would make p-aminophenol not to usefull...
« Reply #5 on: May 24, 2004, 01:40:00 PM »
that would make p-aminophenol not to usefull for much in the way of drug chemistry. it would not be an amphetamine at all...