Author Topic: A newbee who needs help.  (Read 2750 times)

filthysock

A newbee who needs help.
« on: February 05, 2004, 11:17:00 PM »
Hey.  I'm just a newbie with almost no clue about chemistry.  I was wondering where a good place to start would be?  I have like no clue about names used in chemistry, what differant things mean and stuff.  I would just like to know where a good place would be to start, like what fun and interesting things can I make with things I can buy in shops or hardware stores...
I just need a place to start.  Are there any helpfull documents I could read (yeah I've read the welcome note for newbies here at the hive but even reading a paragraph of those documents is enough to make my head spin).  I'm a fast learner and very dedicated to learning about chemistry, I just want to take the back way and not the school-way.  Well, can anybody help, give advice, anything?  I am kind of desperate.

I live at a dormitory now, so I cant fiddle with chemicals that much in the dormitory kitchen (some empty weekends could work though) and I'll be getting a place of my own in 2 years, untill then I just want to fill my brain up with knowledge and experience.

embezzler

well for a start
« Reply #1 on: February 05, 2004, 11:24:00 PM »
buy some chemistry books for college level beginners. they are informative and probably the best place to start also the

http://www.sciencemadness.org

board has a beginner forum. there is a lot of theorey available if you cant start with the technical skills straight away

aleph

Getting Started
« Reply #2 on: February 06, 2004, 12:21:00 AM »
I recommend getting into some chemistry courses if possible.  Pay particular attention to the labs for practical hints and experience.  For a jump-start in the clandestine lab, Strike has written books of interest.  I found Total Synthesis II to be helpful....  There are, no doubt, quite a number of useful books available, and, of course, the hive :-)

foxy2