Author Topic: TMA-2: electrochemical nitropropene questions ?! -element 109  (Read 2603 times)

dormouse

the Hive BB
  Novel Discourse
  TMA-2: electrochemical nitropropene questions ?!

profile | register | preferences | faq | search

next newest topic | next oldest topic 
Author  Topic:   TMA-2: electrochemical nitropropene questions ?! 
element 109
NewBee   posted 01-10-2000 10:01 AM           
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
OK, here's something that's been haunting me for days now. It was a sudden "eureka" that hit me when I thought this one up, but my knowledge of chemistry falls way too short, I'm still learning this and I know I could be all wrong.
Now, in his book PiHKaL Shulgin synthesizes much (if not all) of his PEA's and amphetamines starting from their corresponding benzaldehydes. This benzaldehyde is then reacted with nirtomethane or nitroethane to give the beta-nitrostyrene or the phenyl-2-nitropropene respectively. Then he uses LAH on these creatures for reductive amination to give the phenethylamine or amphetamine.

In another article, the synthesis of mescaline from gallic acid (found at Rhodium's page), the authors use an awesome piece of electrochemical reductive amination; after 12 hours mescaline.HCl is obtained from 3,4,5-trimethoxy-beta-nitrostyrene in 77% yield. (J.Prakt.Chem 137, 339 (1933))

"Yeah, so what the fuck ?",you may ask yourselves now.

Well, in another article found at Rhodium's fine page, "TMA-2 from Sweet Flag root by Randolph Carter", the author distills asarone from calamus root (185-200C) and went on reacting this with NaNO2 and H2SO4, to get an 78% yield of 2,4,5-trimethoxyphenyl-2-nitropropene. Now Shulgin would probably do a LAH job here, but the author went on oxidizng it into the ketone and did a Leukart.