Author Topic: Newbee recrystallization question  (Read 1747 times)

kjb1891

Newbee recrystallization question
« on: March 09, 2004, 06:15:00 PM »
I know that recrystallization is used to ensure purity of substances, but how exactly do you go about doing this? Sorry, I'm fairly new at chemistry. I'm more of a biology guy.

place

Will a singel Solvent (alkohol) ...
« Reply #2 on: March 09, 2004, 07:34:00 PM »
Will a singel Solvent (alkohol) recrystalizering be enough make the product 100% pure?

SWIM has acetone to a dual solvent recrystal., but SWIM does not know if its "dry" and still don't know how to drye it. (Have read on Rhodium).

Rhodium

recrystallization basics
« Reply #3 on: March 09, 2004, 10:23:00 PM »
Will a singel Solvent (alkohol) recrystalizering be enough make the product 100% pure?

Definitely not, such a purity is not possible to attain. You usually need to recrystallize several times to achieve purities exceeding even 99.5%, and the number of solvents used in the recrystallization does not determine purity. Every crystal is unique, and needs its own unique treatment for the best and most efficient purification. A lot of solvents and solvent systems will work okay, but may either cause loss of product or give an inferior purification - or both. If you do not have a pre-determined solvent system you have to go by trial & error.

If you cannot find out how to dry solvents after reading the documents at rhodium.ws > Chemistry > Equipment & Lab Technique > Solvents then you really need to re-read those documents and use the search engine here to learn more about practical chemistry.

ApprenticeCook

important parts skipped
« Reply #4 on: March 09, 2004, 10:31:00 PM »
You need to dry your solvents before recrystallization otherwise when doing something like mdma.hcl some will dissolve in the hot water portion and you will lose it...